Location: Home > Information > Yunnan of China

Geographical Location

Source:   Time:


  Yunnan, called Dian for short, is situated in the Southwest frontier of China. Stretching for 864.9 kilometers from east to west and 990 kilometers from north to south, it covers an area of 394,000 square kilometers. It accounts for 4.1% of the total land area of China and this makes it the 8th largest province in China. With Kunming as its capital city, Yunnan has 8 municipalities and 8 national autonomous prefectures under its jurisdiction.

  Yunnan is situated in the southwestern part of the Yunnan-Guizhou Plateau. It borders Guizhou Province and Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region on the southeast, Sichuan Province on the northeast and Tibet Autonomous Region on the northwest. To its west and south Yunnan shares a common border with Myanmar, Laos and Viet Nam along a boundary line that is 4,060 kilometers long. In the border area, there are 11 national border ports, 10 provincial border ports, and over 90 routes leading into the neighboring countries. In addition, Yunnan is adjacent to Thailand, Cambodia, Bangladesh and India.

[Relative Articles]

    Copyright Reserved 2010 © South-East Asia & South Asia Infoport  | Filing Number:ICP 09005773
    Technical Support:China Basalt Software Technology Co., Ltd.