Location: Home > Information > Yunnan of China


Source:   Time:


  Yunnan, called Dian for short, is situated in the Southwest frontier of China. Stretching tbr 864.9 kilometers from east to west and 990 kilometers from north to south, it covers an area of 394,000 square kilo-meters. Accounting for 4.1% of the total land area of China, it is the 8th largest province in China. With Kunming as its capital city; Yunnan has 8 municipalities and 8 national autonomous prefectures under its jurisdiction.

  Yunnan is situated in the southwestern part of the Yunnan-Guizhou Plateau. It borders Guizhou Province and Guangxi Zhnang Antonomous Region on the southeast, Sichuan Prnvince on the northeast and Tibet Autonomous Region On the northwest. To its west and south Yunnan shares a common border with Myanmar. Laos aud Viet Nam along a boundary line that is 4,060 kilometers long. In the border area, there are 12 national border ports, 8 provincial border ports, and over 90 routes leading into the neighboring countries. In addition,Yunnan is geographically proximate to Thailand, Cambodia, Bangladesh and India.

  Since ancient times, Yunnan has been serving as China's gateway to Southeast Asia and South Asia and is a meeting point of oriental and western cultures. The Southern Silk Road which existed 2,000 years ago started its way from Sichnan to Yunnan. and extended from Yunnan further down to Southeast Asia, Central Asia, the Arabian region, and the West.


[Relative Articles]

Copyright Reserved 2010 © South-East Asia & South Asia Infoport  | Filing Number:ICP 09005773
Technical Support:China Basalt Software Technology Co., Ltd.